Our Wearable Waste Week and Fashion Show

Last Thursday afternoon room 6 and room 7  did a waste fashion show. The preparations started on Tuesday with ideas using cardboard, newspaper, paint, and other recycled materials.

I started with cardboard then I cut the shape out of a square. I couldn’t just use a box because the box was too thick. I had to cut the top because  it was too long.

 I finished cutting the cardboard and putting a glue gun on it. Now I had to paint it black. I had to use a lot of black paint. When I finished I let it dry. Now I had to make the eyes – the colours were light pink and purple. I didn’t have light pink so I made my own light pink. I put a little white and not the same amount of red. I mixed it then made the right colour. I drew 3 lines. And painted light pink on the sides then purple in the middle. 

Now I was doing the body. I tried finding the body in the enormous pile of rubbish and I found it! I found the back and the front body part then Mrs Agnew helped me to unfold the cardboard.     

It took me a long time to paint the box black because it was quite large. In the end I brought some black trousers to wear underneath. I was a little nervous after lunch when we had to get ready for our fashion show, in front of the whole school.

We took it in turns to walk across the floor in Room 7 and the whole school was clapping and screaming. We felt very proud of our outfits. It was a great week at school. I enjoyed working on my outfit everyday of the week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *